Hello All.

This is my first blog post.

I’m pretty sure I will create, overanalyse, destroy and re-create this article several times. 

To tell you a bit about myself: Hi. I have been addicted to the internet for as long as I can remember. My love affair with the digital world began at age 13 and to date, I value my alone-time on the internet over social interactions.

I have a lot of interests, A LOT. 

They range from world history and contemporary issues to conspiracy theories and serial killers. I love being outside and exploring the world but I also love being indoors and exploring the internet. 

I finally got around to writing a blog post as a part of a Blog Challenge.

Day 1 Challenge: Take some time to think about your biggest challenges, then list down 2-3 of them and write a few lines about why you think they are holding you back.

Okay, so here we go.

Challenge No. 1

Yes I want to blog. But WTF should I write about?

I don’t want my blog to represent the clusterfuck inside my brain. Unless there’s an audience for that. Aside from my nosey parents.

Having a niche blog makes sense if you want to attract traffic and money.

But I’d rather have a blog like ‘Wait but Why’ that’s an outlet for all the thoughts and ideas that have been gnawing at my insides.

So why don’t I just do that? 

Well, here’s Challenge no. 2:

I’m a lazy piece of shit.

Tim Urban (from Wait but Why) is a master procrastinator. 

Yet he manages to write well thought out articles WITH COOL ILLUSTRATIONS that are fucking awesome.

Then there’s me.
Here’s a phase by phase representation of me trying to get something done for myself:

Phase 1: I have an idea. I’m excited to get started. Motivation level: 100.

Phase 2: I manage to write a paragraph. I stare at it for half an hour. It seems off. I edit it. It still looks like shit. I delete it and re-write the whole thing. I read it again. I stifle a yawn. Suddenly I need a cup of coffee.

Phase 3: I make myself some coffee and then spend a ridiculous amount of time in the kitchen wondering what to eat.

Phase 4: I get back to work. I write two more sentences. I’m in the dire need of inspiration. So I get onto the internet and do some research. I stumble upon something completely irrelevant but it fascinates me so I spend an hour reading it. One things leads to another. I now know about fishes’ mating rituals, have Facebook stalked a couple of people, saved a DIY to do later (as if) and discovered 3 new songs.

Phase 5: The night comes creeping in along with feelings of self hatred and disappointment.

Phase 6: I finally finish the darn article. Because I want to sleep guilt free. I ask myself how I managed to extend a one hour task to ten hours.

So there you have it!

Hopefully, someday, I will be able to focus all my energy into something valuable.
Until then, I will channel all my energy into karaokes. Because karaokes are awesome.

Bye. 

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 1 

Leave a Reply

